Local I-Team: Top Four Car Burglary Hot Spots In The Mid-South

We asked police which shopping centers have the most car break-ins

MEMPHIS, Tenn. (localmemphis.com) - We're just days away from Black Friday and the start of the holiday shopping season. How safe is your car at local shopping centers? The Local I-Team reviewed police records to find out the shopping centers that could put you and your items at risk the most. 
 
It was supposed to be a fun night out. Instead, Will Tashie's truck was vandalized. 
 
"I thought I didn't leave the window down the whole movie,' said Tashie. "I know I didn't leave it down."
 
At closer look, Tashie saw thieves broke into his truck and stole his pistol and laptop.
 
"They tried to use a pry-bar to get in, to get behind the window and unlock it," said Tashie. "They couldn't do it so they ended up smashing it in." 
 
The car break-in was a brazen crime. It happened in a packed parking lot on a Friday night at the Village Shops Plaza at Poplar and Forest Hill Irene in Germantown. 
 
Local 24's John Paul asked Tashie if he ever thought something like this would happen at at this plaza. 
 
"No, especially in Germantown," said Tashie.  
 
The Local I-Team wanted to know where car break-ins happened the most and when. We looked at 2015 police reports from nearly two dozen major shopping centers across the Mid-South to find the top four hotspots.
 
At number four it was a tie with six break-ins each at Collierville's Gallina Centro Shopping Center at Houston Levee and West Poplar and the Oak Court Mall in east Memphis.
 
At Gallina Centro, car break-ins happened most often Monday through Wednesday. At Oak Court Mall, break-ins happened on Wednesdays and Thursdays.
 
Investigators told the Local I-Team just a thin piece of glass is the only thing between thieves and your stuff, and it only takes seconds to get it. 
 
With the help of the Shelby County Sheriff's Office, it didn't take us long to find easy targets, something Sgt. Mickey Keaton with SCSO said thieves want. 
    
"Unlocked doors, items in plain view, those are signals to the burglars, come get me," said Keaton. 
 
At number two, the Towne Center at South-Brook in Whitehaven had nine break-ins last year. That number jumps when you add in the seven others reported near Elvis Presley and East Shelby Drive. 
 
The top car break-in hot spot--the parking lots surrounding Wolfchase Galleria. According to MPD Crime Data from 2015, 15 reported car break-ins happened outside Wolfcase with two of the calls at the address for the Barnes and Noble in front of the mall. Police responded to nine calls at the address for the Wolfchase Dillard's. 
 
Charles Tarkington, Wolfchase Galleria's General Manager sent the Local I-Team the following statement: 

With an estimated 10 million visitors per year, Wolfchase Galleria qualifies as a sizable and highly trafficked mall within the mid-south – seeing more visitors than the airport, zoo and museums combined. In 2015, four vehicle break-ins were reported to the mall. The other reports listed reflect a completely different block that could be an adjacent business with no association to our property. What we can tell you is internally we show a continued decrease in incidents year over year at the mall. We attribute this positive trend in large part to our great relationship with Memphis PD and our commitment to providing a safe and enjoyable shopping experience for all our guests. 


We encourage shoppers who shop anywhere in the city to keep these safety tips in mind during the holiday season and beyond: 

1.      When parking, lock your car and take your keys with you. 

2.      Do not leave valuables in plain view in your car.  Lock valuables and all packages in the trunk. 

3.      When shopping after dark, ask a friend or family member to accompany you. 

4.      Park in a well-lit area.  Make note of where your car is parked and what mall entrance you use. 

5.      Have your keys ready in your hand when leaving the shopping center to return to your car. 

6.      Look inside and under your car before getting inside.  Lock your doors promptly. 

7.      Keep valuables and money in a pocket or small purse with a strap that can be worn across your body. 

8.      Keep your purse closed and secured.  Do not put it down anywhere. 

9.      Be discreet when paying for merchandise if you are carrying a large sum of cash. 
 

10.    Stay alert to what is happening around you.  If you notice anything that appears suspicious, report it immediately to mall security or a store employee.  

 

 Bottom line--- to protect your property-- hide your valuables and lock up. 
 
Here's a look at the list of car break-ins from Mid-South Police Departments obtained by the Local I-Team. 
 
Address of Incident Name of Shopping Center Day Date
2700 N. Germantown Pkwy Wolfchase Galleria- Dillards Friday 4/24/15
2700 N. Germantown Pkwy Wolfchase Galleria- Dillards Friday 4/24/15
2700 N. Germantown Pkwy. Wolfchase Galleria- Dillards Friday 4/10/15
3180 VILLAGE SHOPS DR VILLAGE SHOPS Friday 11-20-2015
3180 VILLAGE SHOPS DR VILLAGE SHOPS Friday 2-13-15
75 Goodman Rd South Lake Center Friday 4/24/15
5959 Poplar Ave Ridgeway Trace (Bestbuy/target plaza) Friday 2/6/15
426 S. Grove Park Rd. Laurelwood Shopping Center Friday 1/23/15
2037 EXETER RD exeter village shopping center Friday 5-22-2015
2774 N. Germantown Pkwy Wolfchase Galleria-Barnes and Noble Monday 6/8/15
2700 N. Germantown Pkwy Wolfchase Galleria- Dillards Monday 8/3/15
2700 N. Germantown Pkwy. Wolfchase Galleria- Dillards Monday 2/9/15
2760 N. Germantown Pkwy Wolfchase Galleria Monday 4/27/15
1200 Southland Mall Southland Mall Monday 9/21/15
1215 Southland Mall Southland Mall Monday 7/2915
6685 Airways Blvd South Lake Center Monday 6/15/15
5959 Poplar Avenue Ridgeway Trace (Bestbuy/target plaza) Monday 9/7/15
425 S. Grove Park Rd. Laurelwood Shopping Center Monday 4/13/2015
960 W. Poplar Avenue Gallina Centro- Perkins Monday 1/5/15
950 W. Poplar Avenue Gallina Centro- Hobby Lobby Monday 1/19/2015
3685 Houston Levee Road Gallina Centro Shopping Center Monday 3-9-15
7670 POPLAR AVE Exeter Village Shopping Center Monday 12-7-2015
3384 Austin Peay Hwy   Monday 6/8/15
4727 Elvis Presley Blvd.   Monday 11/9/15
2700 N. Germantown Pkwy Wolfchase Galleria- Dillards Saturday 8/15/15
2760 N. Germantown Pkwy Wolfchase Galleria Saturday 10/10/15
3180 VILLAGE SHOPS DR village shops Saturday 2-7-15
1200 E. Shelby Drive Town Center at South Brook Saturday 3/7/15
1200 E. Shelby Drive Town Center at South Brook Saturday 7/4/15
1200 E. Shelby Drive Town Center at South Brook Saturday 11/28/15
7615 W FARMINGTON BLVD Saddle Creek Saturday 10-31-2015
5901 Poplar Ave Ridgeway Trace-Logans Saturday 6/20/15
4465 Poplar Avenue Oak Court Mall Saturday 9/12/15
Cooper and Trimble   Saturday 7/25/15
Shelby and Elvis Presley   Saturday 4/4/15
2774 N. Germantown Pkwy Wolfchase Galleria-Barnes and Noble Sunday 7/12/15
2700 N. Germantown Pkwy. Wolfchase Galleria- Dillards Sunday 2/1/15
1200 E. Shelby Drive Town Center at South Brook Sunday 1/11/15
1200 E. Shelby Drive Town Center at South Brook Sunday 12/20/15
2701 N. Germantown Pkwy The Commons Sunday 12/6/15
2701 N. Germantown Pkwy The Commons Sunday 12/6/15
1250 Southland Mall Southland Mall Sunday 12/13/15
5901 Poplar Ave Ridgeway Trace-Logans Sunday 12/13/15
426 S. Grove Park Rd. Laurelwood Shopping Center Sunday 7/26/15
19 N. Cooper   Sunday 11/1/15
3433 Austin Peay Hwy   Sunday 6/14/15
3615 Cowden   Sunday 7/12/15
51 N. Cooper   Sunday 11/1/15
7766 Polo Grounds   Sunday 11/22/15
Winchester and Ridgeway   Sunday 8/2/15
2760 N. Germantown Wolfchase Galleria Thursday 10/1/15
1200 E. Shelby Drive Town Center at South Brook Thursday 9/10/15
1200 E. Shelby Drive Town Center at South Brook Thursday 12/17/15
135 Town Square Blvd Southaven Towne Center Thursday 9/17/15
4465 Poplar Ave Oak Court Mall Thursday 6/18/15
4465 Poplar Avenue Oak Court Mall Thursday 4/30/15
6000 Poplar Avenue   Thursday 1/8/15
6075 Winchester   Thursday 5/21/15
Madison Ave and Cooper   Thursday 7/2/15
2700 N. Germantown Pkwy Wolfchase Galleria- Dillards Tuesday 5/5/15
1200 E. Shelby Drive Town Center at South Brook Tuesday 5/19/15
1200 E. Shelby Drive Town Center at South Brook Tuesday 11/24/15
230 Towne Center Loop Southaven Towne Center Tuesday 12/22/15
6620 Towne Center Loop Southaven Towne Center Tuesday 10/27/15
4465 Poplar Oak Court Mall Tuesday 1/6/15
3581 Houston Levee Road Gallina Centro- Longhorn Tuesday 3-31-2015
2100 Monroe   Tuesday 4/21/2015
4727 Elvis Presley   Tuesday 3/31/15
2700 N. Germantown Pkwy. Wolfchase Galleria- Dillards Wednesday 2/18/2015
2760 N. Germantown Pkwy Wolfchase Galleria Wednesday 9/2/15
230 Towne Center Loop Southaven Towne Center Wednesday 9/2/15
175 Goodman Rd South Lake Center Wednesday 10/28/2015
7615 W FARMINGTON BLVD Saddle Creek Wednesday 10-7-2015
4465 Poplar Oak Court Mall Wednesday 1/7/15
4465 Poplar Ave Oak Court Mall Wednesday 3/4/2015
3655 S. Houston Levee Road Gallina Centro- Stein Mart Wednesday 7/29/15
3685 Houston Levee Road Gallina Centro Shopping Center Wednesday 3-4-15
4727 Elvis Presley Blvd.   Wednesday 5/13/15
     
 
 

Don't Miss

  • Find It
    Copyright 2017 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.
  • Win Tickets to See the RiverKings
    Copyright 2017 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.
  • Enter to Win a Party Bike Tour!
  • You Could Get Your Mortgage Paid for a Year!
    Copyright 2017 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.
  • Follow Us
    Copyright 2017 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

Latest News