x
Breaking News
More () »

New Tennessee law allows online course training for concealed carry permit in 2020

A new law takes effect in the new year that makes it easier for you to have a gun permit. You can’t open carry, it’s conceal only, but it is less ex...

MEMPHIS,  Tenn. (localmemphis.com) – A new law takes effect in the new year that makes it easier for you to have a gun permit. You can’t open carry, it’s conceal only, but it is less expensive and requires less training. You can even take the training class online.

“Would you pick a gun up and carry it around and not practice using it?” asked Rep. Andy Holt, who sponsored House Bill,1264, which allows Tennesseans to obtain a concealed handgun carry permit for the first time online.

“I see where everybody’s going with this. ‘Oh no, we’re going to turn all these people loose and they’ve never touched a gun before.’ Is there anything that’s keeping that person from doing that right now? There’s nothing. Nothing out there.”

The $65 course does not require participants to fire a weapon. It’s 90-minute long and covers law, safe-handling, and storage methods. Holt says is more time-efficient for hectic schedules.

“The current handgun carry permit is restricted to the point that people are not pursuing their handgun carry permit because there’s way more training and book work and time in the classroom than what is necessary.”

Some instructors are not fans. Retired SCSO captain and firearm instructor Bennie Cobb says he was polled 6 months ago on the bill and disagreed with the option.

“Is the person on the other side of the online (course), is it actually the person taking the test that’s actually the applicant?”

Instructors here at Top Gun say that’ll you’ll be getting experience here in the classroom in real life that you wouldn’t get online.

“There’s a lot of questions that need to be asked that you’re not going to get in an online course,” said Top Gun manager James York. “Two, you’re going to be out on the range shooting you need to be experiencing that. You need to experience your firearm.”

Permit holders will be required to pass a name-based background check every 6 years.

You’ll want to double check that other states have reciprocity with the Tennessee permit law before you travel.