Breaking News
More () »

Here's who will be inducted into the 2022 class of the Memphis Sports Hall of Fame

The ceremony is set for Oct. 20, 2022, at the Renasant Convention Center in downtown Memphis.
Credit: Memphis Sports Hall of Fame

MEMPHIS, Tenn. — Memphis athletes, coaches, and contributors are set to be inducted into the Memphis Sports Hall of Fame this October.

The ceremony is set for Oct. 20, 2022, at the Renasant Convention Center in downtown Memphis – making its return for the first time since 2019 and the COVID-19 pandemic.

Honorees are celebrated for inspiring and educating young athletes in the Memphis area.

Among the 2022 inductees are wrestling legend Jerry “The King” Lawler, former Memphis Grizzlies coach Lionel Hollins, and former Memphis Tiger and NFL star DeAngelo Williams.

“It’s an honor to be recognized and included in the Memphis Sports Hall of Fame with such an outstanding group of athletes,” said DeAngelo Williams. “I cherish my time at the University of Memphis and the city that believed in me. I would not be who I am today without Memphis.”

 “We’re excited to induct the 2022 class of Memphis sports legends into our Memphis Sports Hall of Fame while welcoming back the induction ceremony after a two-year hiatus due to COVID-19,” said Kevin Kane, Memphis Tourism President & CEO. “This group of 27 athletes, coaches and contributors demonstrates Memphis’ incredible and rich sports history. We are thrilled to recognize them for the impacts they have made within their sport and locally.”

Tickets, which run $75 for the reception and $750 for reserved tables, are available now for purchase here.

2022 Memphis Sports Hall Of Fame Inductees:

  • A.F. "Bud" Dudley
  • Billy J. Murphy
  • Charlie Lea
  • DeAngelo Williams
  • Elliot Perry
  • Fred Jones Jr.
  • Gene Bartow
  • Dr. James “Doc” Prothro
  • Jerry “The King” Lawler
  • John “Bull” Bramlett
  • Linda Street
  • Lionel Hollins
  • Loren Roberts
  • Mary Lou Johns
  • Michael Heisley
  • Missy Gregg
  • Steve Ehrhart

High School Coaches Inductees:

  • Barbara Whitaker
  • Buster Kelso
  • Derek W. Hunter
  • Jake Rudolph
  • Jerry Peters
  • Joe Branch
  • Ken Netherland
  • Lloyd Williams
  • Terry Tippett
  • Tom Nix

RELATED: Opinion | Southern Heritage Classic: In jeopardy because JSU’s Deion Sanders doesn’t care? | Otis Sanford

RELATED: Memphis men's basketball hires Andy Borman as Assistant Coach

RELATED: 22 people make up inaugural class of Memphis Sports Hall of Fame

Paid Advertisement

Before You Leave, Check This Out