New Arkansas law changes the state’s marriage age

Local News

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (localmemphis.com) — Arkansas Gov. Asa Hutchinson has signed legislation that raises the state’s marriage age to 17.

Previously, a 16-year-old girl and 17-year-old boy could get married with the consent of their parents. If the girl was pregnant, a judge could approve a marriage regardless of her age.

Under the new law, both genders must be 17 regardless, and parental consent is still required.

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

What's Trending Now

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss

Event Calendar