Tennessee House advances hand-held phone ban while driving

Local News

A ban on holding cellphones while driving in Tennessee is now one step closer to becoming law.

The state house advanced legislation Wednesday.

Supporters argue it enhances safety, but critics consider the bill government overreach.

If approved, you could be fined $100. The fine would be $200 if the violation results in a crash. The bill would take effect in 2020.

Currently hand-held cellphone use is banned in school zones in Tennessee.

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

What's Trending Now

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss

Event Calendar